A Guide To Hikes and Scrambles in New Mexico


Update: July 24, 2016:

Hey, I’m back for a while. Currently I’m in Santa Fe and hope to have the opportunity to post some new hikes in that area. (It is beautiful, by the way). I already have drafts for the hikes to Santa Fe Baldy and for Wheeler Peak. Hopefully, there will be more to come.

Marty


 

In the last three years I’ve been meandering around New Mexico and posting route descriptions for the various hikes. My meandering now takes me to New England, well outside the coverage area for this blog. The New England states have their own charm but I will miss New Mexico’s enormous vistas and the incredible joys of the region’s sky islands.

Author on Baker Peak, via Lake Trail, in the Green Mountains of Vermont

Author on Baker Peak, via Lake Trail, in the Green Mountains of Vermont

My thanks to those readers who have frequented these posts! If this is your first visit then I suggest you use the navigation aids at the top of each page. Those who are hiking from a fixed location in New Mexico should check out the “Map of Trailheads” link to find nearby hikes. Those who are looking for a particular hike should check out the “Hikes By Name” link to find specific trails or to find hikes in a specific mountain range. Those who are concerned about the effects of the seasons should check out the “Hikes by Date” link to get easy links to hikes in contrasting seasons.

The “About” link asserts that the summits of New Mexico are usually high, often cold and frequently lonely. Also, they are very beautiful.

Marty

July 2015

 

